1 min read

Buskaid – A Musical Miracle

Virtual Concert, 29-31 Jan, Streaming and On-Demand

The Princeton Symphony Orchestra is proud to present South Africa’s renowned Buskaid Soweto String Ensemble in a new series curated from their most memorable concert moments of the last five years. This first concert features performances with guest artist Melvyn Tan, Buskaid-trained violist Tiisetso Mashishi, a work by Princeton-based composer Julian Grant, plus popular vocals and unforgettable kwela – a South African style of music based on jazzy undertones and derived from the marabi sound.




Jean-Philippe RAMEAU / Overture to Naïs  

Jean-Philippe RAMEAU / Rigaudons I & II from Dardanus 

Wolfgang Amadeus MOZART / Piano Concerto No. 13 in C Major, K. 415

     III. Rondeau Allegro

     Melvyn Tan, piano

Max BRUCH arr. Michael Pilkington / Romanze for Solo Viola and Orchestra, Op. 85

     Tiisetso Mashishi, viola  

Julian GRANT / Sancho’s Dance-Mix 

     Suite for string orchestra after dances by Ignatius Sancho

Plus, some great popular music…

Bennie BENJAMIN and Sol MARCUS  / “I Love Your Lovin’ Ways”

     Cecelia Manyama, vocals   

Judy COLLINS | Nina SIMONE / “My Father ”  

     Mathapelo Matabane, vocals

Cole PORTER / “Too Darn Hot”

     Tumi Mapholo, vocals

And Cool Kwela…

Marks MANKWANE / “Marks’ Special”

Winston “Mankunku” NGOZI / “Yakhal’ Inkomo” 

     Mathapelo Matabane, vocals


     “Kwa Kumnandi” 

     “2 Bob”  

     “Never Change My Mind” 

     Cecelia Manyama, Tshegofatso Matabane, and Tumi Mapholo, vocals